Term Dates

 2018 – 2019

 Full Term Dates (inclusive)  Half-term Dates (inclusive)  Exeat Dates (inclusive)

Lent

Tues 8 January
Fri 5 April
Sat 16 February
Sun 24 February
26/27 January

Summer

Tues 30 April^
Sat 6 July
Sat 25 May
Sun 2 June
11/12 May

 

^ Good Friday is Friday 19 April and Easter Monday is Monday 22 April.  Early May Bank Holiday is Monday 6 May and will be a normal school day for SS and JS (but not the PP).

2019 – 2020

 Full Term Dates (inclusive)  Half-term Dates (inclusive)  Exeat Dates (inclusive)

Michaelmas

+Tues 3 September
Weds 18 December#
Sat 12 October
Sun 27 October
21/22 September
23/24 November

Lent

Tues 7 January
Fri 27 March
Sat 15 February
Sun 23 February
25/26 January

Summer

Tues 21 April^
Sat 4 July
Sat 23 May
Sun 31 May
9/10 May

+ Monday 2 September – 2.00 pm Arrival of all new and current Boarding pupils (including those moving up from Form 8).

Tuesday 3 September – Arrival of all new Senior School Day pupils (including those moving up from Form 8) and Induction Day for all Lower Fifth and Lower Sixth pupils and School House Boarding pupils. Choristers to arrive at Choir House.

Wednesday 4 September – All other Senior School year groups return (Middle Fifth, Upper Fifth, and Upper Sixth) and term begins for all Junior School and Pre-Prep School pupils.

# The SES Carol Service will be on Tuesday 17 December 2019 at 7.30pm in Canterbury Cathedral.

^ Good Friday is Friday 10 April and Easter Monday is Monday 13 April.  Early May Bank Holiday is Monday 4 May and will be a normal school day for SS and JS (but not the PP).

All dates correct as at 3 January 2019.

Notes:

  • The starting date for each term is the day on which pupils return; boarders return the previous evening.
  • Only in exceptional circumstances will permission be given for a pupil to leave before the end of term, or to arrive back after the term has begun. Requests should be addressed in writing to the Head, the Head of the Junior School or the Head of Pre-Prep, at least two weeks before the intended alteration of arrangements.
  • Pupils living overseas should arrange their flights so that they do not have to leave school early; this usually means flying no earlier than the day after the end of term.